fc
(IP Logged)

Date Registered: 09/08/2010
Problems with wall-hoppers
Date: August 09, 2010 06:00AM
Hi all,

I'm a resident of Aiken's Village and I realise that both our estate and Sandyford Hall have been having problems with wall hoppers. However, this activity has recently taken a nasty turn on our side. Up until last month the worst that has happened has been some graffiti and a little bit of noise, nothing to make an issue of anyway. However, in the last few weeks youths crossing over the wall have broken street lighting, egged houses and have been agressive and insulting to residents who have confronted them. This culminated last week when they overturned a car, which spilled petrol all over the road and required the fire brigade to come out and dump sand over it. On top of this, the manager of the shop on our side has been complaining of the same group loitering and even shoplifting.

While I don't seek to accuse anyone, and it may even be that these youths are not from Sandyford Hall, but are merely coming through your estate into ours(in which case I'm sure you're having the same problems), these kids are definately not from Aiken's village or Belarmine and have been witnessed crossing over the wall from Sandyford Hall.

Both of our residents associations are planning to meet soon, and this will be an issue they will discuss, but I thought I would give you all the courtesy of some advance warning. It is our intention to work with the gardai to identify these individuals, find out where they live, and to take all action necessary to put a stop to this, including prosecution if need be.

The group consists of approximately 6-7 boys, aged between 15-18. If you are the parent of a teenager who crosses the wall with or without friends, please make them aware of what is going on here, as whether they are involved or not there will be severe consequences if this continues and they may get caught up in it.